The Undo command (Edit -> Undo) is useful to not take into account the last editing command. It is possible to undo the commands Cut, Paste, Copy, Move, Stretch, Edit and Compile.
Click on the Cut icon. Move the cursor to the design window, and delimit the active area with the mouse. Consequently, all the graphics included in this area are erased. Click on Undo to fix those elements back into the design.
Click on the Copy icon. Move the cursor to the design window, and delimit the active area with the mouse. Consequently, all the graphics included in this area are copied. The external shape of the copied elements appears. Fix those copied elements at the desired location by a click on the mouse.
Click on Undo to cancel the copy command.
All the graphics previously deleted or copies may be fixed again on the layout at the desired location by a click on the mouse.
To move one box, click on the "Stretch,Move icon" or "Edit -> Move Area or Stretch". Then using the mouse, draw an area that includes the box. Then, drag the mouse to the new location and release the mouse. As a result, the box has been moved the new place. Repeat the same in order to move a set of boxes.
To move one box lambda per lambda, click "Edit -> Move Step by Step". Using the mouse, create an area that includes the boxes. The selection appears in yellow. Then, click the arrow until the selection has been moved the new place. The step value (in lambda) is fixed in the edit line.
To apply a rotation or a flip to one part of the design, click on Edit -> Flip & Rotate. Select one of the proposed action, and then delimit the area inside which the boxes will be changed.
Click on "View ->Protect All" to protect all layers for editing purpose. All ticks in the palette are removed. Click on "View ->Unprotect All" to select all layers for editing purpose. All ticks in the palette are asserted.
The library contains a set of predefined layout macros such as contacts, devices and pads. Those cells are built according to design rules, and contain size parameters. To invoke the cell library click Edit -> Generate.
The "Draw Box" icon is the default icon. It creates a box in the selected layer. The default layer is polysilicon. If the "Draw Box" icon is not selected, click on it. Then, move the cursor to the display window and fix the first corner of the box with a press of the mouse. Keep pressed and drag the mouse to the opposite corner of the box. Release the mouse and see how the box is created.
- The active layer is selected in the palette.
- The red color indicates the active layer.
- The tick specifies that all boxes using the layer can be erased, stretched or copied.
- Removing the tick protects the layer.
You may also edit the following layout:
Three virtual elements may be added to the layout: resistance, capacitance and inductance.
RESISTANCE. Adding a resistance in the layout is interesting to handle the interconnect resistance effect in analog simulation. In practice, resistance are added in the layout of some analog circuits such as analog-to-digital converters (See ADC.MSK). To insert a resistance, do as follows:
When adding a resistance, you give either a fixed value (For example 1200), or a keyword: R(poly),R(metal), or R(All). In that case, at extraction, Microwind updates the value of the resistance according to the layout and current technology.
CAPACITANCE. Adding a virtual capacitance is interesting to investigate the behavior of a circuit when loaded by a capacitance charge, without performing its implementation.
INDUCTANCE. An inductance may be added in the layout to simulate the effect of integrated inductance, in resonant circuits for example.
The command " Duplicate XY " is very useful to generate an array of identical cells such as RAM cells for example. Click on Edit -> Duplicate XY, include the elements to duplicate in an area defined by the mouse, and the following screen appears. In both X and Y, the default multiplication factor is x 2. You may adjust the space between cells. By default, the cells touch each other. Selected boxes appear in yellow on the screen.
BackUse "Connect Layers" to create the appropriate contacts between two layers at the specific cursor location. The command works for any layer from the diffusion up to the highest metallization. For example, if poly and metal 3 boxes are present at the cursor location, a stack of poly/metal, metal/Metal2 and metal2/metal3 contacts will be added to the layout.